Luthier Wood Review: Swamp and Northern Ash Guitar body wood tonewood

22564
39
107
29.06.2013
BIGDGUITARS

BIGDGUITARS

16112219
79200
696
14.10.2008
US
Описание видео:

Inside the Luthier's Shop with BigDGuitars.com: Review of Ash both swamp and northern ash

Кадры из видео
Luthier Wood Review: Swamp and Northern Ash Guitar body wood tonewood
Luthier Wood Review: Swamp and Northern Ash Guitar body wood tonewood
Luthier Wood Review: Swamp and Northern Ash Guitar body wood tonewood
Luthier Wood Review: Swamp and Northern Ash Guitar body wood tonewood
Тэги из видео
Комментарии пользователей:
OFF GRID ON THE CANADIAN SHIELD
2022-10-13 17:23:05

I have swamp ash.

JR Zans
2022-02-03 07:29:19

Probably why my guitar weighs so much for me lol, it's called northern ash wood, good to know

Watts Creates
2020-09-02 22:13:52

One type of ash lol

Jon Duke
2019-11-06 11:26:42

I had my luthier bake my North American ash and it came out awesome. He is a true master and it took awhile but definitely worth it . It was definitely a process and wasn’t cheap,

Big Faxxx
2019-10-20 08:11:46

I get swamp ash all the time in the summer

pam carr
2019-04-30 20:44:29

Thanks BigD! Lots of info!

Baddaxx
2019-02-07 02:10:37

So you guys are saying I can make a guitar from plastic and it would sound just as good as a wooden one? Forgive me I have no education not even elementary school. But when the brakes squeak on a car because the vibrations cause the steel to resonate we fix it by dampening that vibration with a membrane. Now My thought is, Since the strings that make the magnetic field distort that field when they vibrate across the poles would have zero effect if those strings where mounted sayyyy um by IDK rubber? Your saying that the sound tone and sustain would be exactly the same? F me I should have just used a 3d printer and saved a tonn of work.

eddie julian
2018-02-09 05:42:11

YOU CAN HERE A RING ON THE BODY BECAUSE IT HAS CAVITIES ROUTED INTO IT AND IT'S LIGHTER THAN A SOLID BOARD. IF YOU ROUTED HOILES IN THE BOARD AND KNOCKED ON THE AREA OVER THE HOLE IT WOULD PRODUCE MORE SOUND AS WELL. I REALLY RESPECT YOUR SKILLS AS A LUTHIER AND REALLY APPRECIATE ALL OF THE GREAT VIDEOS YOU HAVE GONE OUT OF YOUR WAY TO PRODUCE BUT I RESPECTFULLY DISAGREE WITH THE TONE WOOD THING. IT'S JUST MY EXPERIENCE AND OPINION BUT I CAN'T HERE ANY DIFFERENCE IN WOOD SPECIES WHEN I HAVE MY GUITAR PLUGGED IN AN AMP AND THAT'S WHAT I THINK MATTERS. TO BE HONEST I CAN'T EVEN HERE IT ON AN ACOUSTIC GUITAR. I CAN ONLY HERE THE QUALITY OF THE BUILD AND COMPONENTS USED. LIKE I SAID IT'S JUST MY OPINION I DON'T THINK PEOPLE NEED TO DISRESPECT EACH OTHER JUST BECAUSE THEY DISAGREE ON SOMETHING. I SAY IF YOU CAN HERE A DIFFERENCE THEN IT'S REAL TO YOU BUT ME I CAN'T. I STILL LIKE THESE WOOD REVIEWS THOUGH BECAUSE I LIKE TO SEE WORKABILITY AND OTHER BUILDER'S OPINIONS ON DIFFERENT SPECIES OF WOOD. I LOVE USING ASH IT'S A BEAUTIFUL AND EXTREMELY STABLE WOOD.THANKS FOR THE AWESOME VIDEOS BIG D.

Tim Hallas
2017-07-12 23:16:55

I get my Swamp Ash from Stewart McDonald in Ohio. I don't particularly like paying retail prices for wood, but this stuff is already selected by experts and It is consistently top quality stuff. Their neck blanks are also 100% ready to use. I can buy nearly every piece that I need from them and build a great guitar for under 600 material cost. They are not just a supply house, they repair and build in house and design many of their own tools.

freak bass
2017-02-19 15:37:11

Can you tell if this is alder or ash?
talkbass.com/attachments/v7-3-jpg.1059974 talkbass.com/attachments/v7-3-jpg.1059974

Ojo del Huracán.
2017-02-18 07:53:52

Hello. Greatings from Spain. Is almond tree suitable for guitar bodys?

Jets
2015-09-28 09:46:37

Swamp ash are better ?

Neil Pincus
2015-03-10 08:36:19

I built a seven string Tele Deluxe using really heavy ash and it works so well for metal. Very tight lows and nice singing tops. If people want to believe there's no difference I'm not going to be an asshole and knock them. Each to their own, but I like that my guitars all sound different, and it's not just the pickups and pots!

Filled the grain with ebony stain and sanded it back, put some clear on but not enough to completely fill the pores. Looks sweet. 

BlackLocustMusic
2015-01-20 20:23:46

Most Ash is blue ash, there is no such thing as swamp ash. It does not exist and it was called that by Leo Fender because he bought it cheaper from southern outlets. The ash is exactly the same. The weight is ONLY dictated by the tree it comes from and has no extra ''super'' properties. Tone woods for electric guitars is a false statement since the wood applies no tone or eq to the output of the guitar. Swamp Ash was only a selling point for penny pinching guitar company.  I've even heard people say that '' swamp ash grows deep in the swamps and has to grow in water very slowly as to keep its fibers separated so when you build a guitar with it, it will retain its pure tone quality''.  BULLSHIT.

Alexander Thornton
2014-09-26 16:15:02

I am going to finish a guitar with aniline dye, do I still need to use a grain filler?

ADDICTED TO GEAR
2013-08-12 02:59:13

I love a good peice of ash!

T
2013-08-11 16:56:58

i like the color of the ash body u have stained in this video. would like a similar color for they body of my tele. what u use to get that color?

umbalaba
2013-06-29 17:14:35

Very interesting review!

Что ищут прямо сейчас
武裝 ������ ������ EnvyCRM редкая радиотехника барбоскины спокойной ночи 宗教 nicandro vision пересказ ภพ elon musk wife genshin на слабом пк jewellery куруш как перейти с iOS на Android rdr 2 hack online 高清 ray mears белый соус для пиццы шкурка шиншиллы что дальше
Похожие видео
03.07.2012
Tone Woods Part II - Bodies | Fender Custom Shop | Fender

Tone Woods Part II - Bodies | Fender Custom Shop | Fender

22.11.2018
Les Paul Style Guitar Timelapse Build

Les Paul Style Guitar Timelapse Build

05.05.2020
Swamp Ash: What's the Deal?

Swamp Ash: What's the Deal?

15.11.2022
F Hole Routing with an Overarm Router - Worlds greatest tool

F Hole Routing with an Overarm Router - Worlds greatest tool

12.07.2013
Taptone Tonewoods & Wood Selection for your guitar project - BigDGuitars tonewood debate

Taptone Tonewoods & Wood Selection for your guitar project - BigDGuitars tonewood debate

19.12.2018
Alder vs Swamp Ash vs Mahogany - Guitar Body Wood Tone Test

Alder vs Swamp Ash vs Mahogany - Guitar Body Wood Tone Test

21.01.2021

"Pick of the Day" - 1959 Fender Stratocaster and 1970 Marshall JMP 1959T

08.04.2021
Awesome Ash Finish Techniques (LOTS OF OPTIONS)

Awesome Ash Finish Techniques (LOTS OF OPTIONS)

02.01.2020
How to Finish a BEAUTIFUL Ash Burl Guitar (THIN VENEER!) Part 5

How to Finish a BEAUTIFUL Ash Burl Guitar (THIN VENEER!) Part 5

02.04.2020
The Flying V Korina 1959 aged replica

The Flying V Korina 1959 aged replica

24.09.2021
Fender Telecaster Thinline from 1972 presented by Vintage Guitar Oldenburg and Tobias Hoffmann

Fender Telecaster Thinline from 1972 presented by Vintage Guitar Oldenburg and Tobias Hoffmann

05.09.2019
The Blackguards '51 & '53 Tele, & '53 Esquire | CME Vintage Demo | Shelby Pollard

The Blackguards '51 & '53 Tele, & '53 Esquire | CME Vintage Demo | Shelby Pollard

14.11.2019
Guitar - Paulownia Wood vs Swamp Ash

Guitar - Paulownia Wood vs Swamp Ash

15.10.2018
Ceruse finish on an Ash guitar body blank

Ceruse finish on an Ash guitar body blank

06.02.2021
Ultra Stratocaster Build - Part 1 of 3 (Full Black Limba Body Build)

Ultra Stratocaster Build - Part 1 of 3 (Full Black Limba Body Build)